The trouble with Scripts

I want to take a moment to let you know that from time to time, scripted objects in SL break.  Something changes in the viewer or the servers or who knows what, and a script that has performed flawlessly for literally years, will suddenly no longer work.  I think we’re all familiar with temporary script problems due to lag, or settings in a particular sim, but I’m speaking of permanent breakage here.

In the year I’ve been creating content I’ve had it happen twice.  Both times were in items that were fairly popular, and the task of going through my transaction lists to compile thousands of names and resend the items with updated scripts was just more than I could imagine taking on.  Fortunately both times the breaks were minor, affecting only one underused feature, and as the problem is discovered, I’m more than happy to replace them.

Which brings me to my point.  If you have a problem with an item you purchase from me, please let me know.  I make mistakes.  I’m human.  And as stated in this post, things break after the fact.  Please don’t assume I intended to sell you a broken or defective item.  Even if you aren’t certain if some seeming issue with a shoe was just an “interesting” design choice I made, ask.  I won’t be offended, I promise!  And if I can fix it, or change it to your satisfaction, I will.  If I can’t, I’ll refund your money.

Lastly, I’m aware there are scripts in SL that allow for updating of items.   I’ve been sorely tempted to invest in them, as my skills have grown and I’ve gone back and updated older items.  It would be lovely to have dropped those scripts into older products and be able to automatically send my customers improved versions as I create them.  However, those scripts cause lag, and I’ve become very aware of the need to reduce the number and types of scripts used in my products as I’ve become more aware of the causes of lag.  So rather than have that script run in each piece of merchandize I sell, I’m electing to rely on you to ask me.  If you see an updated version of a product you’ve purchased, let me know.  We’ll arrange a little meet up, and I’ll hand deliver your updated product.  It means a lot to me that you’ve invested in my learning process, and I want to be sure you get the best product I’m currently able to make.

XXOO

Renee

~ by Renee Harvy on January 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
